Outreach and Engagement Council

The Council meets quarterly (January, April, July, October) on the third Thursday, 10AM-12PM or as called by the Vice Provost.

View Council meeting notes

The Outreach and Engagement Council was created in 2007 consistent with designating a new position as Vice Provost leading the Division of University Outreach and Engagement. Initial priorities included designing a strategic plan for this work and hosting a presidential commission that examined future opportunities. The intent of the Council is to provide integrated, campus-wide guidance to the Vice Provost around the following items:

  1. Advice and recommendations regarding implementation and future development of the OSU Outreach and Engagement Strategic Plan
  2. Development of policy options and implications from the perspective of unit represented
  3. Encourage and reward faculty innovation in developing, implementing and evaluating outreach and engagement activities
  4. Identify and prioritize opportunities to advance outreach and engagement including:
    • Issues and Needs
    • Partnerships
    • Resources
    • Approaches
    • Business models


Membership of the Council consists of one representative of each OSU college as designated by the respective dean. Additional members are considered based upon issues and recommendations of the Council. Members are appointed for two-year terms and may be re-appointed by a dean (for collegiate representatives) or the Vice Provost without limit. Terms are calendar year, January – December.

O&E Council Members: 2016

  • Scott Reed, Chair, Vice Provost Outreach and Engagement
  • Dave King, Associate Provost Outreach and Engagement, Outreach Education
  • Dave Hansen, Interim Associate Provost Outreach and Engagement, Interim Assoc. Director Extension
  • Lisa Templeton, Executive Director, Extended Campus
  • Ann Murphy, University Outreach and Engagement Marketing
  • Sam Angima, College of Agricultural Sciences
  • Sherri Noxel, College of Business
  • Lynn Dierking, College of Education
  • Kendra Sharp, College of Engineering
  • Jim Johnson, College of Forestry
  • Gloria Krahn, College of Public Health and Human Sciences
  • Abby Metzger, College of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Marion Rossi, College of Liberal Arts
  • Paige Clark, College of Pharmacy
  • Doug Keszler, College of Science
  • Chuck Estill, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Emily Bowling, Academic Success and Engagement
  • Kathy Bickel, Alumni Association
  • Vacant, Director, Center for Latin@ Studies and Engagement (CL@SE)
  • Allison Davis-White Eyes, Intercultural Student Services
  • Lois Brooks, Information Services
  • Laurie Lewis, International Programs
  • Scott Elmshaeuser, OSU Foundation
  • Kyle Cole, Precollege Programs
  • Bruce Weber, Rural Studies Program
  • Shelby Walker, Sea Grant
  • Steve Clark, University Relations & Marketing
  • Cheryl Middleton, Valley Library

Staff: Jackie Russell, Executive Assistant to Vice Provost University Outreach and Engagement

Share this